Wednesday Wisdom – Sovereignty of God

God is in control.

How do I know?

His Word, the Holy Bible tells me, plus He has shown me through life experience.

Here are a few Bible verses to encourage you today.

Our God is in heaven and does whatever He pleases. Psalm 115:3 (Holman Christian Standard Bible)

Whatever the LORD pleases, he does, in heaven and on earth, in the seas and all deeps. Psalm 135:6 (ESV)

The heart of man plans his way, but the LORD establishes his steps. Proverbs 16:9 (ESV)

He prayed, “O LORD, God of our ancestors, you alone are the God who is in heaven. You are ruler of all the kingdoms of the earth. You are powerful and mighty; no one can stand against you! 2 Chronicles 20:6 (NLT)

And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose. Romans 8:28 (NASB)

“I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33 (ESV)

For the Lord will not
cast off forever,
but, though he cause grief, he will have compassion
according to the abundance of his steadfast love;
 for he does not afflict from his heart
or grieve the children of men. Lamentations 3:31-33 (ESV)

He gives power to the faint,
and to him who has no might he increases strength. Isaiah 40:29 (ESV)

The Lord has established his throne in the heavens,
and his kingdom rules over all. Psalm 103:19 (ESV)

At the end of the days I, Nebuchadnezzar, lifted my eyes to heaven, and my reason returned to me, and I blessed the Most High, and praised and honored him who lives forever,

for his dominion is an everlasting dominion,
and his kingdom endures from generation to generation;
all the inhabitants of the earth are accounted as nothing,
and he does according to his will among the host of heaven
    and among the inhabitants of the earth;
and none can stay his hand
or say to him, “What have you done?” Daniel 4:34-35 (ESV)

Furthermore, because we are united with Christ, we have received an inheritance from God, for he chose us in advance, and he makes everything work out according to his plan. Ephesians 1:11 (ESV)

In the book of Ezekiel, God, the Sovereign Lord, instructs Ezekiel on how He wants him to address the rebellious people of Israel. Israel was hard-hearted and stubborn (Sounds like us, right?), and as a result were in exile because of it. In instructing Ezekiel to address His people in this way, God wanted this title to be a reminder that He was the One in control and not Israel. God will not be mocked, and because the people chose not to obey and follow after the One true God, they were lifting themselves up in a position above God. If you take a look at the warning Ezekiel was commanded to share with the Israelites you will be taken aback at the harshness of the words (Ezekiel 11: 5-12). God wanted His people to know sin has consequences, and for Israel it would mean their destruction, but oh, the glorious Lord, who is the Sovereign One over all the earth, He always provides an out through restoration of a few.

In Ezekiel 11: 16-21(NLT) the Bible reads:
“Therefore, tell the exiles, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: Although I have scattered you in the countries of the world, I will be a sanctuary to you during your time in exile. 17 I, the Sovereign Lord, will gather you back from the nations where you have been scattered, and I will give you the land of Israel once again.’

18 “When the people return to their homeland, they will remove every trace of their vile images and detestable idols. 19 And I will give them singleness of heart and put a new spirit within them. I will take away their stony, stubborn heart and give them a tender, responsive heart, 20 so they will obey my decrees and regulations. Then they will truly be my people, and I will be their God. 21 But as for those who long for vile images and detestable idols, I will repay them fully for their sins. I, the Sovereign Lord, have spoken!”

God restores through His mercy, not because of what we have done but because of Who He is.

“So now, this is what the Sovereign Lord says: I will end the captivity of my people; I will have mercy on all Israel, for I jealously guard my holy reputation!” Ezekiel 39:25 (ESV)

God is Sovereign over all things, always and forever.

~~~

Come by for a visit for tomorrow’s “Teaching Thursday” where I’ll take a deeper look at God’s Sovereignty. We’ll revisit Ezekiel. It’s going to be fun!

About LatanyaWagner

I'm a homeschooling mom of 3. Originally from Georgia, where I grew up learning about the value of hard work while living on a farm, I now live near Charlotte, NC, working hard to raise a family that loves and honors God. I have a Bachelors of Science degree in Architectural Engineering and a Masters of Arts degree in Counseling Ministry. I'm also an aspiring writer and speaker. I'm currently writing my second novel and a non-fiction book on homeschooling. I recently (Jan. 2013) self-published my first Christian Romance Novel, 'Mending Hearts' on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Wisdom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

