Teaching Thursday—To Love as Christ Loves Us

~~Written by: Billy Wagner, Jr.

Today’s post is written by my husband, Billy Wagner, Jr. He is a graduate of Wingate University in Communications and Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary with a Masters of Divinity in Christian Education. He is our family’s awesome provider, and he is a fantastic dad to Morressa, Mattie, and Luke. I’m excited to share him with my readers today. I’m ‘kinda’ partial to him. 😉

Jesus knew that relationships are the most valuable asset that we have, but at times the most difficult to maintain. That’s why in John 13:34 Jesus taught, “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.” Then He added, “By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another” (verse 35).

Those who love will always “believe” in the other person. There is no second-guessing or questioning of whether the person should be loved. Love is simply given. It is unconditional. The loved one does not need to perform anything or achieve a certain goal in order to be loved. Just as Christ loves His children unconditionally, He calls us to love others. Love is based on who He is, not on what others do.

A person with God’s type of love will “always trust.” That is, he will not be suspicious of the one he loves. He will be slow to believe any damaging news concerning the loved one and will always give the benefit of the doubt. Whatever the situation, love is ready to trust. To trust someone means you are “ever ready to believe the best.

If brothers and sisters in Christ would believe in one another, setting suspicion aside and extending unconditional love, what a difference it would make in the church! When our focus is on Christ, we can show His love to meet the needs of others. 1 Corinthians 13 lists three things that will always remain: faith (pistis), hope, and love. The Christian need never be without these gifts. His nature is to believe and love.

About LatanyaWagner

I'm a homeschooling mom of 3. Originally from Georgia, where I grew up learning about the value of hard work while living on a farm, I now live near Charlotte, NC, working hard to raise a family that loves and honors God. I have a Bachelors of Science degree in Architectural Engineering and a Masters of Arts degree in Counseling Ministry. I'm also an aspiring writer and speaker. I'm currently writing my second novel and a non-fiction book on homeschooling. I recently (Jan. 2013) self-published my first Christian Romance Novel, 'Mending Hearts' on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Teaching Thursday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

