Friday Funday – Cheeseburger Soup

It’s Friday Funday

Enjoy this yummy soup on a cold winter day. Cornbread makes a nice complement to this delicious soup. (I was going to upload a photo of this delectable soup, but apparently I deleted the photo off my phone. Perfect excuse to make it again–real soon! My mouth is watering.)

 Cheeseburger Soup

½ pound ground beef
¾ cup chopped onion
¾ cup shredded carrots
¾ cup diced celery
1 teaspoon dried parsley flakes
4 tablespoons butter, divided
3 cups chicken broth
4 cups diced peeled potatoes (1 ¾ pounds)
¼ cup all-purpose flour
8 ounces process American cheese, cubed (Gouda may work as a substitute, but I haven’t tried it)
1 ½ cups milk
¾ teaspoon salt
¼ to ½ teaspoon pepper
¼ cup sour cream

In a 3-quart saucepan, brown beef; drain and set aside. In the same saucepan, sauté onion, carrots, celery, basil and parsley in 1 tablespoon butter until vegetables are tender, about 10 minutes. Add broth, potatoes and beef; bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 10-12 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Meanwhile, in a small skillet melt remaining butter. Add flour; cook and stir for 3-5 minutes or until bubbly. Add to soup; bring to a boil. Cook and stir 2 minutes. Reduce heat to low. Add cheese, milk, salt and pepper, cook and stir until cheese melts. Remove from the heat; blend in sour cream. Yield: 8 servings.

(This recipe appeared originally in the January 2002 issue of Carolina Country, page 42.)

Come back in February for my next full week installment. The theme will be LOVE, of course.

About LatanyaWagner

I'm a homeschooling mom of 3. Originally from Georgia, where I grew up learning about the value of hard work while living on a farm, I now live near Charlotte, NC, working hard to raise a family that loves and honors God. I have a Bachelors of Science degree in Architectural Engineering and a Masters of Arts degree in Counseling Ministry. I'm also an aspiring writer and speaker. I'm currently writing my second novel and a non-fiction book on homeschooling. I recently (Jan. 2013) self-published my first Christian Romance Novel, 'Mending Hearts' on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Friday Funday, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

