Monday Musings – Life Matters

Monday Musings…Life Matters

Welcome to Monday Musings on Grace Beyond Measure. I’m so happy you joined me today for what is the first of, hopefully, many Monday Musings.

I hope you’ll find something of value here…

Yesterday many churches across America stood up for Life. Every year, one Sunday in the month of January is set aside to speak up for the life whether it’s the unborn, the sick, or the elderly. Sadly, on January 22, 2015, many will celebrate the 42nd anniversary of the Supreme Court’s decision (Roe vs. Wade) legalizing a woman’s right to willfully choose to KILL her unborn child.

Abortion ceases the beating heartbeats of defenseless babies. A baby can’t fight back.

Wouldn’t that make abortion barbaric?

Many have forgotten that life is precious and a blessing. It is a gift, no matter the circumstances.

Although I’ve always known what decision I would make if faced with making a decision between life and death in a pregnancy, I had no idea it would be a decision I would be asked to make. In 1999, my husband, Billy, and I were faced with the question of abortion after a routine sonogram of our second child. Our sweet baby was diagnosed with Anencephaly, a neural tube defect, which is terminal. Despite the shock of hearing about the unthinkable and having the unthinkable suggested to us, I, with my husband’s support, adamantly replied with a resounding NO. Through my tears, I told the attending OBGYN physician the choice he was asking us to make wasn’t our decision but God’s as both the Author and Taker of life.

For us, our baby’s life was in God’s hand, not ours.

We’ve never regretted it. (Read more of Abigail’s story at: https://gbmministry.wordpress.com/2010/12/30/counting-it-all-joy-are-you-serious/ )

Why our baby? Why us? Why is abortion even an option in a civilized society?

I don’t know.

But here is what I do understand: God redeems. He redeems our hurts. AND He redeems our bad and erroneous decisions. A bad decision can be any wrong choice we make.
What is at the core of the issue, here, is sin. Unequivocally. I’m not talking about my sin.

My sin didn’t cause Abigail to be created as she was; God shaped her the way He did for a purpose. Sin, a rebellion against God by mankind, leads to humans believing abortion is okay. In fact, that any wrong behavior is okay, and allowable—permissible, even.
God says no to sin. God offers us forgiveness.

Our part in this is a repentant heart; a heart that is broken over sin, and therefore seeks forgiveness.

Forgiveness takes asking with right motives. In other words, “Do you really mean it?” God knows. And deep down we all know in our hearts if we truly seek forgiveness.

By sharing the story God has given me, I want others, who happened to follow the abortion route, to know God can and will give you forgiveness.

Ask! That’s hope. That’s peace. And it takes courage.

If you or someone you know had an abortion, regrets their decision, and wants to seek forgiveness from God, let them know it can be done. All it takes is asking God for it, and really meaning it.

God can remove the scars… allow Him.

About LatanyaWagner

I'm a homeschooling mom of 3. Originally from Georgia, where I grew up learning about the value of hard work while living on a farm, I now live near Charlotte, NC, working hard to raise a family that loves and honors God. I have a Bachelors of Science degree in Architectural Engineering and a Masters of Arts degree in Counseling Ministry. I'm also an aspiring writer and speaker. I'm currently writing my second novel and a non-fiction book on homeschooling. I recently (Jan. 2013) self-published my first Christian Romance Novel, 'Mending Hearts' on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Monday Musings, Sanctity of Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

