He Sees Me!

Do you often feel like no one cares? You may be in the room, but you get the feeling that no one notices that you’re even there. It hurts, doesn’t it? Are you one that desires for others to know who you are, but you can’t seem to cross that line of connection? To be honest, I feel that way too, at times.

I want people to know me.

I feel. I hurt. I laugh. I cry.

For me, I’m not crazy about small talk. I’m a “let’s get to the deep things” not the surface minded stuff. I’m a thinker. Maybe that’s the barrier I struggle against in a world that is only focused on the surface, while avoiding deep things. I can’t change my make-up. I can’t knit together a new me and be somebody I wasn’t fashioned to be. I have a purpose. God can (and does) chip away at the edges to make me a better me, just as He can and will do for all of us, if we allow Him.

I guess what I’m getting at is:  we want to be seen. Not because of a selfish desire, but more as a desire to feel as though people actually genuinely care. We want to be known. There is a longing for that; built-in to the very fabric of who we are.

But when it gets down to the basics, the only One Who TRULY sees us, Who knows us intimately, Who made us in His image, is God Himself.  He, alone, knows our deepest thoughts, desires, hurts, and intricacies.

God sees us! He sees you! He sees me! And we matter to Him. He notices us. He knows us. And most importantly He loves us.

In Genesis we see the story of Hagar, Sarai’s (Sarah’s) servant. In the account Sarai gives Abram (Abraham), Hagar because Sarai was barren and felt she needed to help God fulfill His promise to Abram that he would be the father of many nations. As a result of Abram’s acceptance of Hagar into his bed she became pregnant. However, Hagar had not been part of God’s original plan to give Abram many descendants. Abram and Sarah both sinned due to their actions and lack of faith, but Hagar also reacted wrongly by treating her mistress with contempt. Not a good triangle: contempt, jealousy, and blame! Sarai blamed Abram for the whole mess, but Abram put it back on Sarai, and Sarai made Hagar pay. We don’t know what Sarai did, but it was bad enough that Hagar fled. In her flight, Hagar was found by the *angel of the LORD. Hagar fled because she felt no one cared for her. How was she to fit in when her mistress hated her?

What a difficult situation she was in. She felt alone, rejected, and hopeless. But the angel of the LORD changed her outlook. First, He said she needed to return to Sarai and submit to her authority. This had to be a very difficult thing for her to do, considering the reason she fled. But then He told her something that gave her hope. Her child’s life would result in more descendants than she could number. It wouldn’t be all good, after all, the angel of the LORD said her son would be a wild donkey, a fighter/warrior, and would never be able to get along with his extended line of relatives. (And we see that open hostility even today as we see the open and obvious hate and contention of Arabs against the nation of Israel, and  the Jews.) Not exactly the best sort of news, but Hagar did something new in her life as a result. She began calling God by another name, El Roi. She declared, “You are the God Who sees me” (Gen. 16:13).

That day she began to believe that she mattered, because the God who made her, actually saw her. He saw her hurt and her rejection, and knew of her need for hope. She was no longer alone.

He saw her!

He sees me and He sees you. He cares what you think. He cares how you feel.

You matter! Don’t loose hope. Don’t loose your joy.

And…

Don’t loose hope! God sees you. He is your El Roi. You are not alone! Never!

*Many biblical scholars believe that the angel of the LORD is the pre-Incarnate Jesus Christ, the second person of the God-head, in the Old Testament, and I agree.

About LatanyaWagner

I'm a homeschooling mom of 3. Originally from Georgia, where I grew up learning about the value of hard work while living on a farm, I now live near Charlotte, NC, working hard to raise a family that loves and honors God. I have a Bachelors of Science degree in Architectural Engineering and a Masters of Arts degree in Counseling Ministry. I'm also an aspiring writer and speaker. I'm currently writing my second novel and a non-fiction book on homeschooling. I recently (Jan. 2013) self-published my first Christian Romance Novel, 'Mending Hearts' on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Love of God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He Sees Me!

  1. It amazes me how many times that God lays something in my lap right when I need it. How is it that two people, I don’t even know how far apart you and I live, can feel exactly the same way…. And how God can line them up. I, like you, prefer a deep conversation to small talk. Consequently, I spend more time with God than I do with people. And I have very few close girl friends, none of whom I text b/c we are on the Dave Ramsey diet, which I’m fine with, but I can’t afford to text…which, most of the time, I’m fine with…. Thank you for lining up my need to be known with the example of Hagar. Wow. I’m very blessed by your blog! Thank you!

    Love, a fellow writer in Jesus,

    Angie Faulstich

    • Angie,

      I’m so glad that what God led me to write spoke to you as well. God is so good and always on time! By the way, I’m in NC. May God bless you in your walk with Him (and He will!) always!! Thank you for your sweet note. It always helps to know that what I write blesses someone as much as it does me. I love how our LORD teaches and how GREAT He LOVES! Many blessing to you as you write what God places on your heart!

      In Christ,
      Latanya

Leave a Reply

