Hearing It! Thunking It! Saying It! What Are You, Really…In Christ

Hmm, so you’ve heard it! Perhaps from your own mouth! You may have “thunk” it! Possibly you were taught this in church. In truth, it is a sort of religious piety, but all the same, it is not true if you are Christ’s.

Wondering what it is?

Okay, I’ll say it: “I’m just a poor, wretched sinner.” Sometimes it is followed by the phrase, “saved by grace.”

Yes, you were saved by grace, but the poor, wretched sinner part is past tense; it is your past state.

Whoa there, don’t get me wrong! I can ‘hear’ the gasps, and ‘see’ the eyeballs rolling!

Hold on!

So…

Yes, even though you are saved, you are still a sinner. That part follows us around, because as long as the Lord tarries we are still bound by the flesh of our body to this sinful world, but our Spirit IS fully belonging to God.

(And we can overcome sin in our life as we strive to live a life that follows Christ…we do have that potential…that is…to not sin. Okay, there are the gasps again! And, believe me I’m far away from being sinless…I mess it up EVERY day…Notice, I said I. Christ doesn’t mess it up. Yes, His Spirit lives in me. And if you are His, He lives in you. Sin in the life of a Christian breaks our line of communication with God, but praying with repentance for forgiveness restores it. But there’s more…it’s called dying to self—daily. It is a constant battle, but the One who paid for our transgressions can and does give us the potential to CHOOSE to not sin. Thank God, that through His Son’s death, we have been made grace FULL and not grace less.)

The GOOD NEWS is that sin no longer has its stranglehold on us because of Christ. LOVE IT! However, sin’s stranglehold is certain death if one is without Christ. Death meaning an eternity separated from God. What an awful eternal existence: Separation from God forever. Period!

Let’s look at how God sees you and me. By the way, He doesn’t see us as poor, and by no means does He see any of us, who are in Christ, as sinners…any longer. You cannot find any Biblical reference of your present state IN Christ as a poor, wretched sinner. But you can go to the Bible to see how God identifies you IN His Son. And you, my friend, ARE sweet to the Father because of His Son.

To God you are…

a child of God.
If you are in Christ you are now a child of God; you have been adopted into God’s family (Ephesians 1:5, Romans 8: 15,16). We can call Him Daddy! Do you get how great that is? My earthly father, Morris, is in the presence of God (and I miss him greatly). I’m no longer able to say the word, “Daddy” to my earthly father, but I can go to my Heavenly Father and cry out to Him about anything. He’s my Daddy! This has rich meaning for me!

a new creation.
In 2 Corinthians 5:17 those who are in Christ are stated as being new creations. The old man is gone (which is why it is possible to live a life without sin…that old sinful man is suppose to be gone…all things have been made new, but it is us who choose to put the old man back on and therefore to sin. Putting back on the old man is a ploy of satan to keep us defeated and out of fellowship with God.) But get this…we have become the righteousness of God because of Christ (see 2 Cor. 5:21).

His beloved.
Did you know that God loves YOU? Yes, He does. You are His beloved. Why else would He freely give His Son (who by the way went willingly to the Cross) as a Living Sacrifice for our sins (John 3:16, Eph. 5:2, )? That’s proof positive…written in RED to make us white as snow. When God looks at His beloved…His real, adopted children…His new creations, He doesn’t see our sin, He sees His Son. Absolutely beautiful!

His workmanship.
Okay, get this straight, we are not our own workmanship, but we are God’s workmanship; i.e. masterpieces (Eph 2:10). He calls us masterpieces. We are more treasured than a Picasso or a Rembrandt! He doesn’t call us wretched, but a beautiful, treasured masterpiece.

a member of the Redeemed.
In the words of Fanny Crosby we get the beautiful picture of Redemption and the call of our spirit to proclaim this amazingly, beautiful gift of redemption.

Redeemed—how I love to proclaim it!
Redeemed by the blood of the Lamb;
Redeemed through His infinite mercy,
His child, and forever, I am.
Redeemed, redeemed,
Redeemed by the blood of the Lamb;
Redeemed, redeemed,
His child, and forever, I am.
Source: http://www.hymnal.net/hymn.php/h/301#ixzz1yH1WMbK5

Christ has redeemed us from sin’s curse, a redemption that could not be bought by the law (Gal. 3:13). We have been redeemed by His Blood. It is an eternal redemption that cannot be snatched from us (John 10:28).What a gift that is worth proclaiming! Isn’t that a word meant to be shared by our own mouths? It is a word of blessing upon our life as we look through the Blood to eternal life. O sweet deliverance!

an heir with Christ.
What a grand and gracious inheritance we have as the adopted sons and daughters of THE King! (Rom. 8:16-17, Gal. 4:6-7) It is abundant and full, not filled with a depth of poorness and wretchedness. Your inheritance is eternal life in and through Christ. Now that is something to shout to everyone. Get this, you are expected to mature into the very likeness of Christ. No, you don’t become Christ, but you become like Him (1 John 3:1-2). Charles Stanley says in his study, Discovering Your Identity in Christ (pp 58, 59), “Oh to be like Jesus! To respond to every person and every situation the way Jesus did…to live in perfect health and absolute victory every moment of our lives…to overcome the enemy of our soul at every turn…to have at our disposal all of the power and riches of the Father! That is the inheritance into which we are growing!”

His.
You are His own. You are no longer your own. I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I that live, but Christ lives in me, and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me (Gal.2:20, NKJV). If you are Christ’s, within you IS the Hope of Glory (Col. 2:20). Tell me this! Why continue proclaiming that what is within you is poor and wretched? Strike it from your mind. If Christ has overcome the world (John 16:33), can’t He certainly untangle the mess that you believe you are? Without Christ we are nothing; we simply exist, but with Christ we LIVE.

Like the reminders of who you are in Christ? I do! You, my friend, are not a poor wretched sinner saved by grace. You ARE a redeemed, beloved, adopted child of God, an Heir of God in Christ who has been saved by Grace. When God steps back and looks at you, He sees a masterpiece that has been made white as snow, by the color of red. You are His. It is a forever state, you know. Believe it! Live it! And tell someone else so they can be it, too! That’s the beauty of Redemption’s Story…

For this reason I bow my knees to the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ…that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the width and length and depth and height—to know the love of Christ that passes knowledge; that you may be filled with the fullness of God. Eph 3:14 , 17-19 NKJV

About LatanyaWagner

I'm a homeschooling mom of 3. Originally from Georgia, where I grew up learning about the value of hard work while living on a farm, I now live near Charlotte, NC, working hard to raise a family that loves and honors God. I have a Bachelors of Science degree in Architectural Engineering and a Masters of Arts degree in Counseling Ministry. I'm also an aspiring writer and speaker. I'm currently writing my second novel and a non-fiction book on homeschooling. I recently (Jan. 2013) self-published my first Christian Romance Novel, 'Mending Hearts' on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Love of God, Salvation and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

