Harmless? Part 3

Part 3: 

Missed the first two installments?  Harmless?,   Harmless? Part 2
I recommend that you read this series in successive order as they are all part of a whole. 

I have been taking part in a Bible study at church on Beth Moore’s, A Woman’s Heart: God’s Dwelling Place. In this study she refers to the Sons of Korah and their sin of jealousy. The Sons of Korah, of the Levitical line, desired to see the divine articles of God from the Holy Place and the Holy of Holies, but they were only assigned the task of transporting them, and would never see the beauty of the articles for themselves (see Numbers 4:1-33, and then chapter 16:3,8-9,31-33). God judged them by gathering them together and having the ground swallow them up. God took His assignments seriously and had huge expectations that His people were to follow.  God requires obedience, reverence, and holiness.  And yes, that was before the Age of Grace, but God still takes His Word seriously and He expects us to as well.

God had specific instructions for Aaron and his sons to follow when they were serving Him and performing sacrifices on the behalf of people of Israel.  Aaron and his sons, God’s chosen priesthood, were not to go their own way, but were to follow God’s set instruction. 

In the tabernacle proper was a bronze laver or basin. This bronze basin was significant and had a great purpose. It was made from polished bronze mirrors (see Ex. 38:8) that were one of the ‘spoils’ of the Israelites Exodus out of Egypt. When the priests went to cleanse their hands and feet, in order to be considered acceptable before a Holy God, they had to look at themselves in the reflected surface of the bronze basin. Their reflection in the basin’s mirrored surface was a reminder to them to cleanse their hearts before approaching God in service. He required an inner cleansing, the most important part of the cleansing experience. Going before God was a matter of the heart.

By knowingly performing a halloween tradition, can we be clean before the Lord?

First Peter 2:9 states: “But you are A CHOSEN RACE, A ROYAL PRIESTHOOD, A HOLY NATION, A PEOPLE FOR God’s OWN POSSESSION, so that you may proclaim the excellencies of Him who has called you out of darkness into His marvelous light; (NASB)”. Peter was writing to Jewish Believers in Asia Minor reminding them of their position in God and that there would be suffering because of Who they belonged to. And today, the same holds true; all Believers in Christ are members of God’s royal priesthood. Christ was our redemptive sacrifice and by the Grace of His act on the Cross we have been deemed acceptable through salvation in Christ; a matter of the heart.

We have been called out of darkness, so why go back into darkness voluntarily by participating in that which is not of God? Darkness should have no place in our hearts. Peter implores Christians to be done with every trace of wickedness (1 Peter 2:1).

One more thing, parents, do you realize that you are the doorkeepers of your home? While your children are under your roof it is your job to protect them. You are responsible for what you allow into your home. Just as the Holy Spirit is the doorkeeper of your soul, you are to be the doorkeeper of your children.

I had a routine for several years of giving out candy with a business card size piece of paper that declared “Jesus is Light of the World” and the paper included a verse of Scripture. I was determined to plant light into the darkness of halloween. I even had my children excited about handing out candy. And then I opened the door. While we did get some really cute costumed and eager children on our doorstep, it always seemed as though the costumes became scarier as the night progressed.  I had to stop allowing my children to open the door or even be near the door when it was opened. I knew I didn’t want to expose them to the sight of a scary goblin or witch, etc. The doorbell would ring and I would open it hoping for a non-scary costumed child to be waiting. The Holy Spirit was convicting me, but I didn’t want to listen.  I reasoned I was doing something good. Right? As I was thinking about this blog series this past Saturday morning, God revealed to me why, even through my stubbornness of those days of handing out candy years ago, He was urging me back then to stop exposing my children to the darkness of this world by what He was allowing my eyes to see on my doorstep.

The darkness was something I could choose to keep out of my house. 

I did not have to openly invite it in. 

And neither do you.

Dear friend, I ask you, out of my love for you as my fellow brother or sister in Christ, to stop opening your ‘door’ and letting the ungodly in. Halloween (or anything evil) has no business being invited into our spiritual and physical homes. He redeemed us from the grave, so why re-expose ourselves and our households to something we ought to guard against?

 “Take no part in the worthless deeds of evil and darkness; instead expose them.” Eph 5: 11

I leave you with this:  I have taught my children to say the name of Jesus when they have any fear enter into their life.  Jesus, His name has power to trample down fear and drive away the enemy. Praise His HOLY Name!

About LatanyaWagner

I'm a homeschooling mom of 3. Originally from Georgia, where I grew up learning about the value of hard work while living on a farm, I now live near Charlotte, NC, working hard to raise a family that loves and honors God. I have a Bachelors of Science degree in Architectural Engineering and a Masters of Arts degree in Counseling Ministry. I'm also an aspiring writer and speaker. I'm currently writing my second novel and a non-fiction book on homeschooling. I recently (Jan. 2013) self-published my first Christian Romance Novel, 'Mending Hearts' on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Harmless? Part 3

  1. Danielle says:

    Amen and Amen! Thank you so much for taking on this difficult subject. You have done it perfectly–by using the word of God. It’s not oppinion and speculation. It’s truth. If people do not want to listen or refuse, that is between them and God. May God be glorified through your posts!

    • Thank you, so much, Danielle! Writing this series was a challenge, because of the topic, and frankly, there is one who doesn’t want the truth exposed. I so wish more Christians would get it. We have no business celebrating halloween. Everything about it is pagan and anti-God. The justification for celebrating it by many Christians boggles my mind. When I wrote this series I would tear up, because I so wanted to get God’s point across and not my own in writing this. But it really comes to the point of where they are spiritually in their walk with the Lord. I can’t help to think that somewhere in their being they know it is not for a Christian. May they listen to the Spirit of the Most Holy God. He alone brings conviction, but it is up to us, His children, what we do with it. May God always be glorified in anything I write. I want my words to be His!

  2. 1 Peter 2:9 (KJV) ~ But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light.

  3. Thank you so much for this article it is very encouraging as I have to stand against some family and church community who believe that Halloween is what you make of it, it’s fun or fear it’s what you choose. thank you for providing this insight and encouragement for me

    • Thank you, too, Lynette! It is very hard taking a stand against something everyone else loves, especially in the Christian community. Thank you for doing the right thing and standing for truth.

Leave a Reply

