Harmless?

*This is written from a Christian perspective and is a cause to bring one who professes faith in Christ to think about what they do with Oct. 31.

We’ve all heard it before; seemingly harmless words to explain our justification for doing what we want.

“It’s just for fun.”
“No harm in doing it, because I know who I believe in.”
“It doesn’t really mean anything to me.”
“I’m just celebrating All Saints day.”
“Aw, he looks so cute in his little pumpkin suit. I just want him to have this great memory.”

Before coming under the conviction of the Lord, our family went ‘trick or treating’ when I was young. I do not remember those outings, but there is a picture of us dressed up in our homemade halloween costumes that my talented mom put together. My sister was an Indian. I was a princess. One of my brothers was a prince, and my youngest brother was Charlie Chaplin. I have to admit. We were cute! But the cuteness was just a disguise. It was simply a whitewashing of what the day represents.

Years later at the church I grew up in, my mother, who had been one of the coordinators for the annual Harvest Festival, had to make a choice. When the idea of setting aside one of the Sunday School rooms as a haunted house was suggested my mom was the only one to verbally come against the idea. It was a stand that was not well liked.

Some of the rebuttal given to my parents was led by the All Saints Day argument. The proclamation that it was all in innocent harmless fun made the presence of the haunted house okay. Recently, my mom told me that a few years later the haunted house was removed because of its fright level to the children. So much for not being harmless!

Folks, no matter how it is whitewashed, halloween is not innocent harmless fun. It is the physical reality of a spiritual battle between good (God) and evil (the deceiver—capital left out intentionally). It is a wide pathway of deception, and it uses the guise of being a ‘holiday’ for the children as its snare.

I’m not going to go in the specifics of its history, but you can find our more about it here: http://www.history.com/topics/halloween or http://www.cbn.com/spirituallife/onlinediscipleship/halloween/halloween_origins_Ankerberg.aspx (and I’m assuming you clicked and educated yourself).

If you read either of the links above, perhaps you have come to the conclusion that the source of halloween is rooted in the worship of satan, the god of this world. (In fact, every man-made religion is rooted in the god of this world. Christianity is not a religion, it is more than that. It is the way of life; a relationship between Christ and those who He has saved from eternal death.) God commanded the Israelites, as they went in to take the land that He promised to them, to not worship the gods of those who lived in the land. God hated how the ones who possessed the land worshipped their gods, and what they had done in the name of their gods; it was (and is) an abomination to Him (see Deut. 12:29-32). The same theme translates to this modern age. Any religion that opposes the One True God is something that Christians should stay away from. Halloween is rooted in devil worship. Why expose yourself and your family to it?

Want to see what witches and warlocks think of Christians who partake in halloween? Even they know Christians are fooled. http://logosresourcepages.org/HalloweenBook/occult.htm

It isn’t something to whitewash or christianize. Halloween at its root is anti-God. Honestly, can we ask ourselves: Is God pleased with a Christian’s participation in a day that pays homage to the god of death, Sam Hain? Former witches and warlocks, who have been redeemed by the Blood of the Lamb, implore Christians to stay away from the holiday. As an example of what a former witch has to say, here is a link to the first part of a series presented on youtube.

(Come back tomorrow afternoon as the second installment of this series is shared. Here is an excerpt…Mixing in a little Christianity will not make it right. Holiness cannot be mixed with ungodliness. Just like oil and water, the two cannot be coalesced. Why try to make something false to be truth. It cannot be done. )

About LatanyaWagner

I'm a homeschooling mom of 3. Originally from Georgia, where I grew up learning about the value of hard work while living on a farm, I now live near Charlotte, NC, working hard to raise a family that loves and honors God. I have a Bachelors of Science degree in Architectural Engineering and a Masters of Arts degree in Counseling Ministry. I'm also an aspiring writer and speaker. I'm currently writing my second novel and a non-fiction book on homeschooling. I recently (Jan. 2013) self-published my first Christian Romance Novel, 'Mending Hearts' on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Harmless?

  1. kflood says:

    Great post, Latanya! THank you for speaking up. So many Christians think the day is harmless. I was exposed to what Halloween actually means when I was in college, and haven’t particpated since. I can’t be involved, or even acknowledge that day. Thanks for spreading the truth! Now if only those who read would make the choice to stay as far away as possible from the celebration fo Halloween.

    • Katy, thank you! I so agree, of course. 😉 I think many know in their heart that it is not something for Christians to take part in. The Spirit of the Living God attests to that in their spirit, if they truly belong to Him. Sadly, many just go along with the flow because it has been accepted as something that is harmless when it is actually very dangerous. God nudges us to stand for Truth, but it takes courage to do so. Darkness must be exposed (Eph 5:11). Amen, I do hope that those who read this and call themselves by His name will choose to stay away from it period! Bless you!

  2. Pingback: Harmless? Part 2 | Grace Beyond Measure – GBM Ministry

  3. Kelly says:

    The links you provided are powerful and your reminder is spot on! We have not celebrated halloween or participated in it for years. As Believers of our Lord Jesus Christ, we need to really be listening to the power of the Holy Spirit. If it doesn’t “feel right” or we start justifying “why” we do something, that is a huge clue that it will not glorify God. When we listen to the world, we miss out on the Holy Spirit. Thank you, Latanya!

  4. Pingback: Harmless? Part 3 | Grace Beyond Measure – GBM Ministry

  5. Danielle says:

    Thank you for your honesty. So many people do justify why they participate in something that goes against the word of God. I haven’t participated in this ‘custom’ since I was a kid and we never have with our daughter and she’s 12. Either we will be set apart from those things or we won’t. My prayer is that many more followers of Christ will open their eyes to the truth and see the Light on this matter.

    • Thank you, Danielle. I couldn’t agree with you more! My heart is so burdened for the followers of Christ, not just with this one aspect, but so much more in all areas of livng our lives for Christ. We have been called out and we need to live as though we have been. He has overcome and what a move of God that will happen if all who call Him Lord would see the Truth and live as light in this dark world. To God be the Glory!

  6. Pingback: IMPORTANT AND VERY INTERESTING HALLOWEEN INFO… | Spiritual Sobriety… the reality of authentic discipleship…

  7. Ron Hill says:

    Latanya, thank you for standing-up for God honoring living. I appreciate the stand your mom took as well. I replied to you on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

