My She Speaks Experience: Part 4

So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded.  You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what He has promised.
Hebrews 10:35-36 NIV 

Saturday, after a yummy breakfast at a HUGE breakfast bar in the courtyard atrium of Embassy Suites, we settled in for Renee Swope’s message:  Don’t Throw Away Your Confidence.”

Renee recently wrote a book called:  A Confident Heart, from which she took her message for the ladies of She Speaks. 

Do you have these little grimy thoughts that come into your head about yourself that you know are 100% contrary to God’s Word, but you allow them to come in anyway, to steal your confidence that He has given you?  I know I do, that is why Renee’s message was such a great and timely one.

 As Renee said, “God wants to transform our thinking to transform our future.” If we always think bad thoughts about who we are, then how can we expect anything other than those bad thoughts to be reality?  We can’t. 

This has been one of my major battles: to have a confident heart.  I’ve often heard that if satan can get us to focus on what we deem is bad about ourselves then he can take our focus off of where it should be: on Christ.  I think about the verse:  “Let this mind be in you which is also in Christ Jesus…” (Phil: 2:5 NKJV).  As a believer in Christ, we are to allow Christ’s mind to transform the way we think; this transformation should transform even how we act. Christ wants others to see Him through His own. 

How can Christ be reflected in us, if all we ever do is “talk” ourselves into believing that we are anything other than what the Word of God says we are?

Insecurities are nasty little creatures that erode and steal our confidence, but only if we let them. Patterns of wrong belief affect our behavior and thinking. Those false beliefs want nothing more than to steal God’s future for us.  But patterns of right belief and behavior can lead to a bright future, full of God’s confidence. We have to constantly cast out those wrong beliefs and behaviors.

Retraining our thought patterns to the patterns that reflect the Word of God is the key.  On our tables were heavy stock printouts of things we say, what God says about them, and then Scripture that emphasize God’s Truths.  We also had miniature tin garbage cans and paper on which to write a doubt that we had about ourselves.  All of us were to write down our doubts, crumple the paper and toss it out.  We were to throw away our doubts; not our confidence. 

What a great lesson to learn that I plan to personally put into practice, not only with myself, but my children.  (I can see it coming in handy for frustration busters during homeschool math lessons.)

Will you join me in throwing away your doubt and not your

Throw away your doubt...not your confidence!

confidence?  Try it!  Write down 2-5 doubts you have about yourself and then crumple it up and throw it out where it belongs: the trash!

Before I close, I had my second book meeting after Renee Swope’s message, but this time with an agent.  Ms. Daniel of The Blythe Daniel Agency also took my book proposal. Yay!  And, yes, I’m still waiting to hear back from her.  I did learn a few things about the publishing industry in terms of Children’s books that I wasn’t so thrilled about, but I’m not going to throw away my confidence in what I wrote. 

I want to leave you with some great Scripture references to read to help boost your confidence. Renee had listed these on the paper she handed out. 

2 Corinthians 2:14, 1 Chronicles 28:20, Isaiah 43:4, Lamentations 3:21-23, Proverbs 3:26, Isaiah 62:3, Ephesians.2:10,  Psalms 73:26, and James 1:5

Please don’t just stop with the above verses, dig in and find other verses that will let you know just how much God loves you and wants you to have a great future in Him.

I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvelous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.
Psalm 139:14 KJV

About LatanyaWagner

I'm a homeschooling mom of 3. Originally from Georgia, where I grew up learning about the value of hard work while living on a farm, I now live near Charlotte, NC, working hard to raise a family that loves and honors God. I have a Bachelors of Science degree in Architectural Engineering and a Masters of Arts degree in Counseling Ministry. I'm also an aspiring writer and speaker. I'm currently writing my second novel and a non-fiction book on homeschooling. I recently (Jan. 2013) self-published my first Christian Romance Novel, 'Mending Hearts' on Amazon.
This entry was posted in She Speaks Conference and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

