From Tragedy to Blessing

*I’m taking a slight detour today from the She Speaks Conference posts to share briefly about something else…

Today marks the twelfth anniversary of the homecoming of our newborn infant daughter, Abigail Grace. While it saddens me that she is not physically with us today, I consider it a privilege that God blessed us with her brief life.

Tragedy has a way of revealing who we are. It rips to the heart of our being bringing us either closer to God or further away from Him. The latter is not His will; instead He wants us to draw upon Him for strength. It isn’t easy, but it is the safest place to be.

We can either stand in awe of His presence through tragedy or turn our backs on Him.

You maybe asking, “How did you do it?” All I can say is this: even in the midst of the dark well of grief it is the act of looking up toward the light that brings with it a hope (and knowledge) that He is there to draw anyone who is willing out of the well of grief. My friend, He is always there; we must ‘see’ Him and acknowledge His presence.

It starts by crying out.

He wants to hear us. He cares about what we are feeling. And He wants to bring us the comfort that only He can give.

He knows what you are feeling.

And it grieves Him also.

He doesn’t bring tragedy into your life to harm you, but to build you. He took the time, out of the vastness of Who He is, to fashion you into something beautiful. The Creator of the Universe will stop at nothing to get your attention. He will stop at nothing to get you to see that in Him is the place of your rest and your peace. In Him alone is your place of contentment.

I cried out in the midst of my pregnancy telling Him I couldn’t do it. I couldn’t face this “thing” He was asking me to face. And do you know what He said? He said He could!

Do you grasp that?

He wants you to give up that pain you are carrying and place it in His hands! It will not happen instantly but He will teach you His peace, rest, and contentment, day by day, as you give your hurts up and over to Him.

He is the very One that you can take your hurts to. He is the very One who will listen better than any friend can. He is the very One who gave of Himself for you!

Take it to Him. Tell Him your hurts. Tell Him. He wants to hear from you. Then wait on Him to lift you up. Allow Him to pick up those pieces of your life. Allow Him to create within you a new sense of His purpose. Lastly, allow Him to be your place of rest and peace.

Let Him create within you a blessing where tragedy once reigned. He is able.

About LatanyaWagner

I'm a homeschooling mom of 3. Originally from Georgia, where I grew up learning about the value of hard work while living on a farm, I now live near Charlotte, NC, working hard to raise a family that loves and honors God. I have a Bachelors of Science degree in Architectural Engineering and a Masters of Arts degree in Counseling Ministry. I'm also an aspiring writer and speaker. I'm currently writing my second novel and a non-fiction book on homeschooling. I recently (Jan. 2013) self-published my first Christian Romance Novel, 'Mending Hearts' on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to From Tragedy to Blessing

  1. Pingback: Leadership Thought #207 – Bad Things Do Happen « Ed Robinson's Blog

  2. I am sorry for your loss. The “anniversary” dates are bittersweet, and we never forget.

Leave a Reply

