My She Speaks Experience: Part 1

*This is the first part of a mini-series about my experience at the Proverb 31 She Speaks Conference held July 22-24, 2011.  And what an experience it was! Humbled and amazed! What a GREAT God we serve!

 The thought of going to a conference with 650 women in attendance absolutely filled me with apprehension. You see, I’m not a crowd person. I’m not one for small talk! And I’m very opinionated!  

What better way to make a quiet and shy girl feel more insignificant than to throw her in with a large group of unfamiliar AND bubbly, talkative women. And then to know they ALL want to serve God! Too!  Is there possibly room for all of us to be used by God? 

An outside of the comfort zone experience, indeed!

Am I painting a picture for you? {Grin}

I left my house with apprehension, but also a sense of excitement because God had provided a way for me to go; He had something He wanted me to hear. But I wondered if I would connect with anyone there.

Have you ever had that feeling of knowing that God sent you, but then to experience emotions practically on the opposite side of the emotional spectrum? 

I arrived in Concord, NC…in my Chevy truck. (Okay, throw in there that I’m a country girl, too, with hopefully, a little sophistication in the mix). Thankfully, the conference was only an hour away from my house, so I did not have to ‘hitch’ a ride in one of the airport shuttle vans that I saw parked under the hotel’s porte-cochere. (Hmm…so, I’m not a fan of flying or shuttle vans.)

I checked in and went to my room.  As I walked into my room all I could smell was stale cigarette smoke! This was not good! I’m an asthmatic, but also I’m not a fan of smoking, either. (I’m not establishing a trend with the “fan” thing! I promise!) 

Long story short…I was able to have the rooms switched. (Thanks to Melissa Taylor of Proverbs 31, and the excellent Embassy Suites hotel staff.) Unfortunately, the room change locked my new roommate out of the smoky room where her things were. Oops! But that was rectified. (Kathy from PA was an awesome roomie, by the way! And she was happy about the room change and so were our lungs and clothing.)

Now it was time to get out there.

As I walked down the corridor that led to the conference side of the hotel the thought:   I don’t belong here. Where can I possibly hide?  kept trying to take over my thoughts.  

But…

 I kept moving forward…

So I could grasp everything God wanted me to see. 

I entered the Conference Bonus Session:  How to Prepare a Powerful, Effective 15 Minute Publisher Meeting with Jeannie Burlowski to soak in some last-minute tidbits before my publisher meeting later in the evening. I had listened to a preconference call with Jeannie a few weeks before, but listening again would do nothing, but better prepare me for the meeting ahead.

Later around 3:45-ish p.m. into the BIG conference room…

–Tables set up all around…

–Stage up front…

–Ladies coming in…

Thankfully, by then, I had finally met my roommate, so the dreaded, ‘Who do I sit with?’ was a non-question for the moment! 

And what do I hear?

Ah-h! The familiar southern drawl of my childhood, what a welcome sound to my ears! (I’m a Georgia girl, living in North Carolina, where my 2-syllable ‘i-ce’ is hilarious to native North Carolinians!)  

You see…

We had sat down next to some Georgia girls! A taste of home!

After the greetings and the introductions we settled in to hear Lysa Terkeurst’s powerful message entitled “Let God Chisel.”  It was the perfect message to open up the conference with…

~~~~

** Join me on Friday, August 5, as I share about Lysa’s message and about what happened later that evening at my publisher meeting with the Harvest House Representative.

Meeting Lysa Terkeurst

About LatanyaWagner

I'm a homeschooling mom of 3. Originally from Georgia, where I grew up learning about the value of hard work while living on a farm, I now live near Charlotte, NC, working hard to raise a family that loves and honors God. I have a Bachelors of Science degree in Architectural Engineering and a Masters of Arts degree in Counseling Ministry. I'm also an aspiring writer and speaker. I'm currently writing my second novel and a non-fiction book on homeschooling. I recently (Jan. 2013) self-published my first Christian Romance Novel, 'Mending Hearts' on Amazon.
This entry was posted in She Speaks Conference, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My She Speaks Experience: Part 1

  1. Pingback: My She Speaks Experience: Part 2 | Grace Beyond Measure – GBM Ministry

Leave a Reply

